Faculty Awards and Recognition

From the Fall 2009 edition of Vanderbilt Business

Nick Bollen, E. Bronson Ingram Professor in Finance, received the Faculty Research Impact Award. One of his early papers, an analysis of the impact of decimal pricing on mutual fund trading costs, proved especially groundbreaking. His most recent work showed that mounting restrictions on hedge fund withdrawals can erode investor value by as much as 15 percent.
Michael Burcham, Clinical Professor of Entrepreneurship, was selected by the Executive MBA Class of 2009 to receive the Executive MBA Outstanding Professor Award.
Dewey Daane, the Frank K. Houston Professor of Finance, Emeritus, has been honored for more than three decades of service to Owen. He was appointed by President John F. Kennedy to the Federal Reserve Board and represented the United States from 1963 to 1974 as one of the two U.S. Deputies of the Group of Ten in their frequent meetings related to the international monetary crises.
Michael Lapré, E. Bronson Ingram Associate Professor in Operations Management, received a 2008 Manufacturing & Service Operations and Management (M&SOM) Meritorious Service Award for providing timely, unbiased and thoughtful reviews of manuscripts submitted to the journal.
Craig Lewis, Madison S. Wigginton Professor of Management in Finance, was selected by the MBA Class of 2009 to receive the James A. Webb Excellence in Teaching Award. Lewis teaches Corporate Valuation, one of the most beloved (and feared) classes in the MBA program.
Richard Oliver, Professor of Marketing at Owen since 1990, has been named Professor, Emeritus. A renowned researcher and pioneer in the field of consumer psychology, Oliver received the prestigious 2008 Sheth Foundation/Journal of Marketing Award for his work, titled “Whence Consumer Loyalty.”
Jacob Sagi, Financial Markets Research Center Associate Professor of Finance, received the Faculty Research Productivity Award for his extensive analyses on financial economics and decision theory.
Comments are closed.