Vanderbilt Business Leadership

From the Spring 2015 edition of Vanderbilt Business

Nancy Wise

Michael T. Smeltzer

Chad Driver, Daniel Dubois, Steve Green, Joe Howell, Anne Rayner, John Russell, Susan Urmy

Joanne Lamphere Beckham, BA’63, Deborah Brewington, Bonnie Arant Ertelt, BS’81, Kara Furlong, Randy Horick, Seth Robertson, Rob Simbeck, Nicole Smith, BA’07, Fiona Soltes, Ryan Underwood, BA’96

M. Eric Johnson, Ralph Owen Dean and Bruce D. Henderson Professor of Strategy

Chief Marketing Officer
Yvonne Martin-Kidd

Associate Dean of Development and Alumni Relations
Cheryl Chunn

Vanderbilt Business magazine is published twice a year by the Owen Graduate School of Management at Vanderbilt University, 401 21st Avenue South, Nashville, TN 37203-9932, in cooperation with Vanderbilt News and Communications. Editorial offices are at Vanderbilt University News and Communications, PMB 357737, 2301 Vanderbilt Place, Nashville, TN 37240-7737, telephone: (615) 322-4624, fax: (615) 343-7708, email:

Please direct alumni inquiries to the Office of Development and Alumni Relations, Owen Graduate School of Management, PMB 407754, 2301 Vanderbilt Place, Nashville, TN 37240-7754, telephone: (615) 322-0815, email:

Vanderbilt University is committed to principles of equal opportunity and affirmative action. Opinions expressed in Vanderbilt Business are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Owen School or Vanderbilt University.

© 2015 Vanderbilt University. “Vanderbilt” and the Vanderbilt logo are registered trademarks and service marks of Vanderbilt University.